REPORT ON PARTICIPATION IN THE 1ST MIZORAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY <u>YOUTH PARLIAMENT COMPETITION</u>

Commemorating the Golden Jubilee celebrations of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly, the Assembly Secretariat hosted a 'Youth Parliament Competition' for all recognized Institutions/Colleges within the state of Mizoram. The participants in the Youth Parliament were:-

- 1. Government Aizawl College
- 2. Government Hrangbana College
- 3. Pachhunga University College
- 4. Government Kolasib College
- 5. Government Serchhip College

Convened under the aegis of the Civil Service Aspirants Club (CSAC), the GAC Team participated in the Youth Parliament Competition. The team members are:

<u>Speaker</u> : Vanlalhriatpuia (6th sem. Commerce) <u>Marshall</u> : J. Lalfakzuala(4th Sem. Economics)

Opposition:

Ruling:

1. Lalhmangaihsânga (4th sem. Economics	5) 1. Raphael Lalruatfela (6 th sem.
	English)
2. Chawngthanmawia (4th Sem. English)	2. C.Lalnunpuii (2 nd sem. Political
	Science)
Lalthanmawii (4th sem. History)	3.Vanlalhriatrenga (6 th sem.
	Commerce)
4. Caroline Lalchhanhimi (6th sem. Comm	erce) 4.Lalremsanga (2 nd sem. Political
	Science)
5. Lalawmpuia (6th sem. Commerce)	5.Lalnunsanga (6 th sem. History)
6. R. Lalnuntluanga (4th sem. Mizo)	6. Lalhmangaihtluanga, 4 th sem.
	Sociology)
	7. Lalramnghaka (2 nd sem. Education)
	8. Laltlanchhuangi(4 th sem. Sociology)
	9. Lalhruaitluangi (6 th sem. Economics)
	10.Tholehlalrindiki(6 th sem. Political
	Science)

Peon/Multi-Tasking Staff:Assembly Secretaries/Commissioners:1. Francis Malsawmkima (2nd sem. Sociology)1. Lalhminghlui Ralte (4th sem.
Economics)2. Emanuel Lalmalsawma (6th sem. Economics)2. HT Lalruatfela (4th sem.
Sociology)3. C. Lalzidingi (6th sem. History)

Based on their First Round performances recorded on video of the debates in their own premises, Pachhunga University College, Government Aizawl College and Government Hrangbana College were chosen to perform in the Finals of the competition.

The selected three colleges competed against each other at the final event held on April 22, 2022 at the Conference Hall of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly Secretariat Annexe. The team of Govt. Aizawl College chose for their debates - Question Hour, Calling Attention Motion and Legislative Business from the competition list of selected topics.

The students' performances were evaluated by the former Speaker of the House Dr. Kenneth Chawngliana and Legislators Zodintluanga Ralte of the Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC), Vanlalhlana of the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), and Dr. F. Lalnunmawia of the Mizo National Front (MNF).

The Youth Parliament Final Competition was broadcast live on Doordarshan Kendra in Aizawl, along with two local media houses LPS and Zonet.

The following Colleges were awarded cash prize awards as follows: **First Prize**: Government Aizawl College

Rs.1,00,000 + Certificate Second Prize: Pachhûnga University College Rs.70,000 + Certificate Third Prize: Government Hrangbana College Rs.50,000 + Certificate
Govt. Kolasib College and Govt. Serchhip College who had also taken part in the competition received a 'Certificate of Participation' and Rs.10,000 each.

Furthermore, from Govt. Aizawl College, Lalhmangaihsânga, IV Semester, Department of Economics, was awarded an Individual Third Prize of Best Parliamentarian. He received Rs 5,000 and a certificate.

We express our heartfelt appreciation to the ex-MLA Mr. R. Vanlalvêna, a GAC alumnus, and Associate Prof. Mrs. Vanlalsâwmi, Department of Education, for sponsoring refreshments for the participants. We also thank R. Lalnuntluanga, IV Semester, Department of Mizo, for his video coverage of the First Round performance, and Associate Prof. Ms. A. Hmangaihzuali Poonte, Department of English, who generously lent us her camera for the video coverage. We would also like to express very special thanks to the GAC Art Club, particularly Lalmuansangi, IV Semester, and Lalrintluanga, VI Semester, who made the Mace used for the final competition.

We received solid support and backing from our respected Principal, Mrs. Hmingpuii Poonte, as well as our Professors-in-charge, Assistant Prof. Mr.Lalmalsawma Khiangte and Mr. Zomuansanga Pachuau, both from the Department of Political Science. We are grateful beyond measure for their guidance and blessings.

Emele, 201/2022

(EMANUEL LALMALSAWMA) LEADER CIVIL SERVICE ASPIRANTS CLUB GOVERNMENT AIZAWL COLLEGE



